New Research Cluster Awards to IHLCDP Associates

Seniors Daily Exercise

Two new Research Clusters have been announced at UBCO led by IHLCDP Associates.  The Aging in Place cluster led by IHLCDP Associate and Professor in the School of Health and Exercise Science, Dr. Jennifer Jakobi, will focus on expanding research to optimize active and health aging at home. The cluster team includes IHLCDP Associates Drs. Brian Dalton, Vicki Komisar, and Brodie Sakakibara, in addition to Dr. Christiane Hoppmann (UBCV) and Dr. Jenn Boger (University of Waterloo).   The Airborne Disease Transmission cluster is co-led by Dr. Jonathan Little, IHLCDP Associate and Associate Professor in the School of Health and Exercise Science, and Dr. Sunny Li (School of Engineering). IHLCDP Associate Dr. Vicki Komisar along with Drs. Joshua Brinkerhoof and Sina Kheirkhah from the School of Engineering are cluster members. Other team members include Dr. Mario Brondani (UBCV), Teresa Skelton (U of T) and Stephen Mostowy (KGH). This team will develop infection isolation and removal solutions and devices designed to mitigate the transmission of COVID-19 and other airborne illnesses in healthcare settings. These Research Clusters are funded by the Office of the Vise-Principal Research and Innovation.

For more information: