Institute Associates receive 2020 MSFHR Scholar Awards

Jennifer and Katrina
Jennifer Davis, Faculty of Management and Katrina Plamondon, School of Nursing, Faculty of Health and Social Development


Dr. Jennifer Davis, Assistant Professor in the Faculty of Management, and Dr. Katrina Plamondon, Assistant Professor in the School of Nursing, at UBC Okanagan are among the 63 recipients of a 2020 MSFHR Scholar Award.  This award supports BC’s next generation of health researchers in developing their leading-edge research programs and helps them attract additional funding, train and hire full-time staff, create knowledge to inform policy, and further research.  Dr. Davis’ research will focus on improving the health and quality of life of older Canadians through applying innovative health economic methods to lifestyle interventions among older adults at risk of falls as well as cognitive and functional decline.  Dr. Plamondon’s program of knowledge translation science will support researchers, students, and professionals in different settings (e.g., rural communities, municipalities, health systems) to align their equity intentions with evidence about causes of health inequities. For more information: